MahoganyMuslimah

Learning, Loving, Building, and Growing Islamically

DIY POWDER LAUNDRY DETERGENT

on March 30, 2013

    As salaam alaikum. Alahmdulilah, I think I have found it! After reading a million and one blogs and thorough Google searching, I think I’ve found the easiest and most basic mixtures. I will post various links so that you can all see the original works and where I got my ideas from directly.

 

My Recipe

1-Large Container for storing

2-3 Bars of Ivory soap (To be microwaved)

1-Box of Borax (Wal-Mart has 20 Mule Team Borax)

1-Box of Washing Soda (Arm& Hammer)

1-2 Containers of Purex Crystals or Downy (no liquid)

1-Container of Oxyclean (Dollar Tree has generic brand)

 

I microwave my Ivory soap first. (Some people use Zote or other castile soaps but they have to be grated.) Microwave one bar of ivory soap at a time for 2-3 minutes, keeping an eye on it. It will puff up! Microwaving the soap makes it easier to work with, as it is just crumbles with little effort. Some people prefer t grate the soap with a cheese grater, food processor or blender. I use Ivory and if microwaved, it pretty much grates itself.

My local Wal-Mart carries Arm & Hammer Washing Soda and 20 Mule team Boras. I’ve read many posts and blogs with people who have no access to these things. I also found a review for turning baking soda into washing soda for people who don’t have it available in their area. I at first thought there was no difference between the two. I was so wrong. Baking soda has more crystallized granules and washing soda is plain, dull and has smaller granules. Tips can be found here http://littlehouseinthesuburbs.com/2012/05/ten-things-laundry.html

You can also do a Google search and find great homemade detergents, both powder and liquid. I will also be posting a DIY section so you will be able to find more ideas, tips, and tricks for cleaning, home maintenance, and other household areas.

Good luck! Leave me a comment if you have tried this or similar recipes, have tips or even if you make your own. Thanks in advance, MahoganyMuslimah

6 responses to “DIY POWDER LAUNDRY DETERGENT

  1. Jennifer says:

    I haven’t tried a homemade powder detergent before but I do make a liquid detergent using very similar items that you have listed. For me it’s great because not only does it save money but I actually enjoy making it. I plan on doing a post on my blog in the future on how to make it.

    • Hi Jennifer. I thought about making the liquid detergent but my issue was storage. Just as you, I enjoy making it too; my 13 year old son even wanted to do! I’m following your blog so I’ll definitely be on the look-out. I wish you the best and I look forward to reading your blog!

  2. Oh, I’m sure you will. I wish you the best! 🙂

  3. I like your recipe! I’ll try to remember it if I ever need it for a trip. I also make liquid, but powder is so much easier to take when traveling.

Leave a Reply

