MahoganyMuslimah

Learning, Loving, Building, and Growing Islamically

Yes I am American and I was born Muslim

on September 20, 2013

All American Muslima

This is   the type of thing that happens everyday. Well, maybe not every day but quite often. So I’m sitting in the Masjid with my sister watching our kids play and Arab woman enters. She asks a few questions concerning when the program will begin and I answer her. This is the first time I am seeing her. I neither know her name nor exactly where she is from. All I can tell about her is that english is not her first language and she has features of an Arab. She sits down across the room as the kids play. She looks at me and asks me if I am American. I answer her and then ask her if she is new to the community and her name. She answers and then asks my name. I say “Aneesah” and then surprisingly she says “Oh you have an Arabic name”…

View original post 373 more words

Leave a Reply

